Literature

Most Popular

Most Recently Added

American Authors

European Authors

Female Authors

Literary Documentary

Shakespeare Collection

Loading more films...

676 Videos in Literature

Loading...

Lady Chatterley's Lover
BBC
Holliday Grainger, Richard Madden and James Norton star in Jed Mercurio's adaptation of DH Lawrence's legendary tale of love across class boundaries. When Sir Clifford Chatterley returns to Wragby Hall in 1918 a broken man, his beautiful and spirited young…
Tokyo Fiancée
Based on Amelie Nothomb's bestselling novel, Tokyo Fiancee is an entertaining romantic comedy that will appeal to fans of Jean-Pierre Jeunet's Amelie and Sofia Coppola's Lost in Translation. The young, pixie-like Amelie is in love with all things Japanese, which…
The Cult of JT LeRoy - A Tale of Literary Celebrity and Fraud
Ethically charged, controversial, and confusing, JT's life and death sprang open a Pandora's box of powerful questions about literature and culture, identity and celebrity, and the reality of the society we live in. Fraud? Art? Sociopathy? Complicity? THE CULT OF…
Zora Neale Hurston: Jump at the Sun
Zora Neale Hurston, path-breaking novelist, pioneering anthropologist and one of the first black women to enter the American literary canon (Their Eyes Were Watching God), established the African American vernacular as one of the most vital, inventive voices in American…
Death of a Salesman
During the post-war boom period of the late '40s, Willy Loman is an aging, traveling salesman, who despairs that his life his been lived in vain. Facing dispensability and insignificance in a heated, youthful economy, Willy is not ready to…
A Place to Stand - The Story of Author Jimmy Santiago Baca
This film tells the story of acclaimed author Jimmy Santiago Baca's transformation from a functionally illiterate convict to an award-winning poet, novelist and screenwriter. Based on the memoir of the same name, the film takes viewers into Baca's past and…
Julius Caesar
A fast-moving thriller about a struggle for democracy, William Shakespeare's Julius Caesar is also a love story between two men united by an explosive act of political violence. Based on the Royal Shakespeare Company's acclaimed stage production, Gregory Doran's film…
Write Down, I am an Arab
"Write Down, I am an Arab" tells the story of Mahmoud Darwish, the Palestinian national poet and one of the most influential writers of the Arab world. His writing shaped Palestinian identity and helped galvanize generations of Palestinians to their…
Jane Eyre Episode 1
BBC
After a wretched childhood, orphaned Jane Eyre yearns for new experiences. She accepts a governess position at Thornfield Hall, where she tutors a lively French girl named Adele. She soon finds herself falling in love with the brooding master of…
Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life
This Academy Award nominated documentary is the first authorized film look at the life and work of the controversial Russian-born author Ayn Rand. The writer of such renowned novels as The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged is the subject of Michael…
White Scripts And Black Supermen - Black Masculinities in Comic Books
A valuable and colorful examination of 40 years of changing representations of Black masculinity in a significant area of popular culture - comic books. Twenty years ago, Marlon Riggs produced an essential documentary critique of the images of African Americans…
Burroughs: The Movie
Made up of intimate, revelatory footage of the singular author and poet filmed over the course of five years, Howard Brookner's 1983 documentary about William S. Burroughs was for decades mainly the stuff of legend; that changed when Aaron Brookner,…
Jane Eyre Episode 2
BBC
Jane returns from her aunt's deathbed to find Rochester paying court to the beautiful Blanche Ingram, however she soon discovers that it is Jane herself that he really loves. But as they are about to wed, a mysterious overseas visitor…
Sense and Sensibility Episode 1
BBC
A moving and powerful three-part adaptation of Sense and Sensibility,Jane Austen's romantic story of love, betrayal and passion versus strict social convention. When Marianne Dashwood falls for the dashing but wayward Willoughby, her sister Elinor warns her that her impulsive…
Love in the Post
Can love be deconstructed? What happens when a famous philosopher writes about love, literature and postcards? Jacques Derrida is the father of deconstruction. In 1980 he wrote an intriguing book 'The Post Card' which weaves fact and fiction in a…
Chimes at Midnight
The crowning achievement of Orson Welles's extraordinary film career, Chimes at Midnight was the culmination of the filmmaker's lifelong obsession with Shakespeare's ultimate rapscallion, Sir John Falstaff. Usually a comic supporting figure, Falstaff--the loyal, often soused friend of King Henry…
Hamlet With David Tennant
Part of the Series: Shakespeare Uncovered
PBS
An acclaimed Hamlet in the Royal Shakespeare Company's hit production (also a recent Great Performances production), David Tennant meets fellow actors who've tackled this most iconic of roles, including superstar Jude Law, and compares notes on the role's titanic challenges.…
Private Romeo
Set in a modern day military school, this smash hit gay adaptation of Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet features hot Broadway "War Horse" actors Matt Doyle and Seth Numrich as the star-crossed lovers. An innovative must-see gay film! When eight male…
Howard Zinn: You Can't Be Neutral on a Moving Train
We mourn the loss of author, activist, historian and beloved folk hero Howard Zinn, who has been an integral part of the First Run legacy for many years. Howard lent his support to many First Run films (many of which…
Shakespeare Series: Tempest
Shakespearean Drama of the Highest Quality Performed at an authentic recreation of The Globe. With performances by world famous award winning Shakespearean actors this series has recaptured the Elizabethan flavor of Shakespeare's own Globe productions by staging them just as…