Literature

Most Popular

Most Recently Added

American Authors

European Authors

Female Authors

Literary Documentary

Shakespeare

Loading more films...

714 Videos in Literature

Loading...

Burroughs: The Movie
Made up of intimate, revelatory footage of the singular author and poet filmed over the course of five years, Howard Brookner's 1983 documentary about William S. Burroughs was for decades mainly the stuff of legend; that changed when Aaron Brookner,…
Tokyo Fiancée
Based on Amelie Nothomb's bestselling novel, Tokyo Fiancee is an entertaining romantic comedy that will appeal to fans of Jean-Pierre Jeunet's Amelie and Sofia Coppola's Lost in Translation. The young, pixie-like Amelie is in love with all things Japanese, which…
Hamlet
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
Chimes at Midnight
The crowning achievement of Orson Welles's extraordinary film career, Chimes at Midnight was the culmination of the filmmaker's lifelong obsession with Shakespeare's ultimate rapscallion, Sir John Falstaff. Usually a comic supporting figure, Falstaff--the loyal, often soused friend of King Henry…
Comic Book Confidential
Comic Book Confidential is a feature-length documentary that profiles twenty-two of the most significant artists and writers working in comic books, graphic novels and strip-art in North America today. In an entertaining and informative combination of interviews, historical footage and…
Death of a Salesman
During the post-war boom period of the late '40s, Willy Loman is an aging, traveling salesman, who despairs that his life his been lived in vain. Facing dispensability and insignificance in a heated, youthful economy, Willy is not ready to…
Lady Chatterley's Lover
BBC
Holliday Grainger, Richard Madden and James Norton star in Jed Mercurio's adaptation of DH Lawrence's legendary tale of love across class boundaries. When Sir Clifford Chatterley returns to Wragby Hall in 1918 a broken man, his beautiful and spirited young…
American Anarchist - The Man Who Wrote "The Anarchist Cookbook"
In 1970, William Powell wanted to help build a new society so he taught the world how to blow the old one up. As the heady days of the late 60's counterculture and political upheaval turned darker, Powell, at 19,…
Approaching Shakespeare—The Scene Begins
Episode 1 of How to Read and Understand Shakespeare Course
Consider four points of entry for understanding what's happening in a Shakespeare play. Learn how to approach a single dramatic scene, focusing on Shakespeare's richly metaphorical use of language. Begin to grasp the playwright's use of stagecraft, and how his…
Jane Eyre Episode 1
Part of the Series: Jane Eyre
BBC
After a wretched childhood, orphaned Jane Eyre yearns for new experiences. She accepts a governess position at Thornfield Hall, where she tutors a lively French girl named Adele. She soon finds herself falling in love with the brooding master of…
Macbeth
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
Peter Elbow: On Writing
Peter Elbow talks directly to students about the process of writing. Beginning with his own early difficulties with writing as a college student, Elbow provides insights into how one can work through writing problems. Full of detailed instruction and specific…
Mary Shelley and the Birth of Science Fiction
Episode 1 of How Great Science Fiction Works
Kick off your adventure into science fiction by clearly defining what science fiction is, and more importantly, what science fiction is not. Learn how science fiction is distinguished from--yet often confused with--other literary genres such as fantasy and horror. Take…
The Cult of JT LeRoy - A Tale of Literary Celebrity and Fraud
Ethically charged, controversial, and confusing, JT's life and death sprang open a Pandora's box of powerful questions about literature and culture, identity and celebrity, and the reality of the society we live in. Fraud? Art? Sociopathy? Complicity? THE CULT OF…
Eugene Onegin
Eugene Onegin has often been referred to as an encyclopedia of 19th century Russian life. Rimas Tuminas' reimagining unfolds in the memory and imagination of Pushkin's characters. The images are split between past and present, between reality and imagination.The scale…
The Go Between - The Past Is A Foreign Country
BBC
When the reserved, elderly Leo Colston comes across a childhood diary, he recalls the painful events of the summer that shaped his character - memories that have long since been locked away... Fifty years earlier, a 12-year-old Leo is spending…
Sense and Sensibility Episode 1
Part of the Series: Sense and Sensibility
BBC
MRS DASHWOOD is devastated when her beloved husband dies. The late MR DASHWOOD's estate and fortune are bequeathed by law to his son from a previous marriage, JOHN DASHWOOD, to the delight of John's rapacious wife, FANNY. Mrs Dashwood and…
Write Down, I am an Arab
"Write Down, I am an Arab" tells the story of Mahmoud Darwish, the Palestinian national poet and one of the most influential writers of the Arab world. His writing shaped Palestinian identity and helped galvanize generations of Palestinians to their…
Tess of the D'Urbervilles Episode 1
Part of the Series: Tess of the D'Urbervilles
BBC
John Durbeyfield, a 'haggler' and a drunk, is weaving his way one afternoon towards the pub when he meets the village priest, Parson Tringham. The priest informs him that his family have distinguished ancestry. They are descended from the d'Urbervilles,…
Frodo Baggins--A Reluctant Hero
Episode 1 of Heroes and Legends
What makes certain characters successful? Begin your study with a look at Frodo Baggins, the hobbit-hero from The Lord of the Rings trilogy. In considering what makes him a hero--and how he runs counter to our notions of the traditional…